Skip to content

#chillinwithmyroyalposse

March 16, 2010
tags:

I love this painting.

It is called La Familia de Felipe IV, or Las Meninas, and was painted by a famous Spanish señor by the name of Velázquez. It’s from the Baroque period, apparently, but don’t ask me anything else as I am a philistine when it comes to art. I stumbled across Las Meninas while wandering in overwhelmed awe through the Museo del Prado in Madrid on an autumn afternoon. (Can one really “stumble across” a world famous work of seventeenth century art?). Even as someone who doesn’t know her impressionist from her surrealists, I was enchanted by the gorgeous quirkiness (yes, that is a technical term) of this painting. I bought a print and lovingly carried it with me for three months through three countries.

Now, La Infanta Margarita chills with her royal posse and eyes me cheekily from inside an Ikea frame.

No comments yet

Leave a comment